Many lacquer-making factories exist in Bagan – this form of handicraft originated here in the 12th to 13th century. It is an educational experience to watch how skilled Burmese, mostly women, work on the products. The process is painstakingly tedious.
This pagoda lies south of Manuha Image. It is one of four Bagan monuments built of sandstones. The other three are Shwezigon, Kyauk Ku Umin and Set Ku Taik (which was a library at the foot of the Tuyin Hill built by King Kya Swa. In 1956 it collapsed due to old age.
Mingala zedi is situated on the west of the road leading to Myin Kaba village. Its shape resembles that of Shwezigon. King Narathiha-pate built it in A.D. 1284 on the model of Shwezigon Pagoda. The only difference between it and Shwezigon is that it was built upon a brick platform.